Layered Snickerdoodle Brownie Bars

 

IMG_1938 (2)

I have been overcome with a terrifying and unceasing sweet tooth this last week. So what better way to sooth the savage tooth than with baking!

Torn between a fudgey brownie and a fluffy snickerdoodle I decided to make them both. In the same baking dish.

Ooooh. Daring!

So I looked up some recipes that were similar to what I wanted and I went with two with similar temp and cooking times.

The brownie recipe I took from Kitchen Simplicity. It was created for this kind of layered baking so I knew the brownie batter wouldn’t be too wet or thin. On its own I think it might be a bit too salty, so I would go light on the salt. Thankfully the cookie topping helped to even things out.

IMG_1931

The snickerdoodle recipe I got from Flavor the Moments. It is actually a cookie BAR recipe (because all of the traditional snickerdoodle cookie recipes call for Cream of Tartar and I’m too lazy to go out and buy some.) It also helped because that meant it was more like batter than dough and would be easier to spread on top.

I cut the recipe in half, plopped the battery-dough on top of the brownie batter in spoonfuls and gently spread it out all over the top. (This batter was very SWEET, but like I said above, it helped even out the salty of the brownie.)

Then I added the cinnamon sugar topping and popped it in the oven.

It came out BEAUTIFUL. (Even though I had to bake it a second time because my testing knife LIED – I swear it came out clean!) The brownie was dense but soft while the snickerdoodle gave a nice crispy soft bite.

IMG_1936 (2)

Also the flavors went REALLY well together! And I definitely want you all to try this. I ate most of the dish the first day and only kept a few pieces so I could share with my family and friends.

Leave a Reply

