Jason’s Deli

Ah, Jason’s Deli. It has been a family favorite for a good decade now. And the reason we like it so much is because it is quick, simple food but with quality flavor and craft. You can order pick-up or pop on in for a sit-down meal and enjoy everything from the salad bar to turkey wraps to salmon sandwiches to baked potatoes to soup!

And don’t forget the complimentary ice cream cone at the end of your meal!

The Jason’s that we always frequent, across from the Tucson Mall, has that fun and quirky cafeteria feel to it – it’s open and the furniture is normal black tables and plastic chairs. There really never was much decoration (till lately when they added some AZ spirit-filled black and white wall posters of various locations across Tucson) except for the red and white color theme.

But it was always pleasant and comfortable and clean. And the food has always been enjoyable. My longtime order is the turkey wrap with swiss (heated) and a side of fruit. The wrap is never dried out and they fill the sandwich with enough meat and cheese to make it worthwhile. Also the fruit dip. I have to rave about this creamy concoction.

From what I can tell from my exacting scientific taste experiments (aka, eating it in insane quantities and with zealous delight) I have deduced that this dip is made out of… magical ingredients! I really haven’t been able to tell. I’m guessing it’s either cream or a thinned out cream cheese with vanilla and some brown sugar. But there is this zing to it that I have only ever been able to describe as alcoholic. Whenever I asked though, I would get a different answer. So it very well may be an alcoholic fruit dip (or the dip may be nearly entirely comprised of vanilla extract – which if you ever look closely enough is 41% alcohol. That is a LOT.)

In either case I always enjoy the dip more than the fruit and use the strawberries, grapes or melons they give me to swipe every last drop of deliciousness off the plastic container it comes in. And then you have to lick clean something THAT good.

I’m sure by now, though, you are wondering what the pictured sandwich is! And that would be the Wild Salmon-wich featuring guacamole and chipotle aioli sauce on focaccia. It was really good. I was even able to not think about the fruit dip waiting for me for a good half a sandwich. The salmon was flaky and not overcooked, it held together nicely. And the sandwich was very flavorful and fresh. Exactly the type of thing I like to order – that which I would not have the patience or ingredients to make.

So next time you drive by a Jason’s Deli. Go ahead. Take a pit stop and refuel with some quality deli(cious) food!

Leave a Reply

