MBA — Blueberry Buckle

image

So there is a pretty background to make up for the awful excuse of a plate. But I was crunched for time having baked this 6 hours before leaving on a road trip. Yay hotels!

Well, this is a blueberry buckle. Never heard of a “buckle”? Neither have I. In fact, I’m still not sure what it is! I would initially describe it as a cobbler and a muffin’s love child.

A quick google search confirms this. According to the ever-reliable Wikipedia: “ A buckle is made with yellow batter (like cake batter), with the filling mixed in with the batter.”

If you are still confused, the closest thing I can adequately compare it to is a bread pudding  It is very dense and VERY moist. It’s almost squishy (which I find very intriguing since it wasn’t a very liquid batter, at all.)

But most importantly it’s very DELICIOUS. The recipe I used (from the ever scientific Alton Brown) called for a streusal type topping – I know not if that is the norm or unique to this recipe.

The recipe was quite simple, quick and seemingly fool proof. The only thing I did different from the recipe (and only due to the late hour of the night and my early start) was to leave the buckle in the oven (turned off, of course!) over night till I woke up in the morning.

And it came out perfectly.

Leave a Reply

