Veggie Enchilada Casserole

This last year of University I was cooking for myself and buying my own groceries. I quickly found out how much cheaper it was to buy vegetables than meat, which I’m sure many of you who live on your own can attest to. After years of eating a meat-centered diet, it was challenging and new to switch over to veggies. I started asking my vegetarian friends for recipes and ideas of what to do with fresh veggies besides stir-fry, salads, and eggs.

One of my dear friends gave me this gem of a recipe and it quickly became a staple meal. I love it especially, because it is very easily customized and never becomes boring. Plus it makes fantastic leftovers!

You can use any variety of sliced and diced veggies. My favorite combinations are: zucchini, corn, mushrooms, onions, carrots (halfway cooked before hand, unless you like them crunchy and slightly raw), and refried beans. I’ve also used blackbeans, canned green beans, tomatoes, and olives in various combos. Every time a success. I don’t think it’s possible to mess this recipe up!

 

Base recipe:

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Put some salsa (red or green, whichever you feel like at the time) on the bottom of your dish, lay corn tortillas on top, smother with more salsa, beans, vegetables of choice, and cheese. Repeat until you reach the top of the casserole dish. I like to end with a layer of corn tortillas and cheese so it’s nice and crispy on top.

Depending on the size and depth of your casserole dish, the time will vary. In the dish pictured above – about the size of a loaf of bread – it takes about 40 minutes to heat it through and make the edges crunchy.

Once it’s bubbly on top and heated through, simply cut out a slice and enjoy!

 

And unless you are feeling generous, hide it from your roommates because they WILL devour it all. Everytime! XD

Leave a Reply

