Village BakeHouse

image

One of my dearest and closest friends introduced me to this gem a few years ago.

Tucked into the corner of the Trader Joe’s shopping plaza off Oracle, one can find this adorable and friendly little bakery and cafe. You can get coffees, smoothies, fresh pastries, breads, cakes, and breakfast or lunch.

My dad and I like to go for breakfast – their specials du jour (“of the day” in French) are always delicious and filling. Usually they will have an omelete and a french toast special to choose from. This last visit, however, they only had omeletes to pick from. My dad and I both went with the Red Bean Chili and Cheddar Cheese omelete.

It was really good. The eggs were fluffy and the chili was rich and savory. It was full of bean, beef and tomato flavours, with just a hint of spice. Each plate came with a side of toast and fruit or potatoes. I had mine with sourdough toast and a side of home-style red potatoes -perfectly seasoned, while my dad had fruit.

It was filling and delicious. An absolute MUST for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

