The Breakfast Club

The Breakfast Club is a trendy restaurant in Old Town Scottsdale. I was brought here with a couple of foodie friends and absolutely fell in love with it. The place is open and has full length windows all around, so the dining room stays bright and cheery. They even have a small bar area if you want to enjoy some day drinking!

The menu offers some traditional and some more sophisticated food choices. They offer several freshly squeezed juice options and breakfast dranks, if you are in the mood. As far as food, you can get anything from the original egg, bacon and toast breakfast, to an omelete, to challah french toast, to several mouth watering choices of eggs benedict. Can you guess which I went for?

See, when I go out to eat, I try to order those things which would normally be too difficult to prepare myself or that have a really new and fresh take on a recipe. When I spotted the Bello Bene and did a little research on bordelaise sauce on my friend’s handy smartphone, I knew I had hit the jackpot.

The Bello Bene features two eggs benedict, on top of portobello mushrooms on top of an English muffin, some sauteed spinach and sliced tomatos, and smothered in bordelaise and hollandaise sauce. It sounds like a lot, looks like a mess in the picture, but trust me. It was amazing.

image
This is one of those plates that just doesn’t translate well into photos.
I swear it didn’t appear this messy when sitting in front of me!

Because you are probably wondering, bordelaise sauce is a classic French sauce made from red wine and bone marrow. It is rich and full bodied and incredibly tasty. Hollandaise is a thick creamy sauce made from egg yolk and butter.

I know you are thinking that sounds too heavy or too many confliction flavors, but somehow they made it work. Every flavor complimented the other and blended so well. It was pure bliss taking each bite.

The dish is also accompanied by some fresh fruit and some southwestern style home potatoes.

I made sure to mop up every last droplet of this delightful creation, and though I was bursting full, I was oh so very happy!

Leave a Reply

